skip to Main Content

NTA’s awards honor its members and industry leaders who have made significant and meaningful contributions to our association and/or the tourism industry overall. Awards are presented annually at Travel Exchange unless otherwise noted.

NTA is now accepting nominations for the three awards listed below. The NTA Board makes the final determination on the recipients. Click here to submit your nomination. The deadline to submit is July 31.

  • Bob Everidge Lifetime Achievement
  • Woman of Vision
  • Young Professional

The Bob Everidge Lifetime Achievement Award was created to recognize and honor individuals who have made outstanding lifetime contributions to NTA and its members.


The award is presented to an individual whose personal and professional contributions to NTA and its members have spanned a minimum of 20 years.


  • Active dedication to the mission of NTA and the best interests of its members
  • Extensive volunteer contributions to NTA and its members
  • Consistently conducted himself/herself in a manner consistent with the ethics, quality and sense of community espoused by NTA


NTA Board will review all nominations and select an honoree if it determines all qualifications are met.


2003: Lois Anderson, Gadabout Tours
2004: Bill Shepler,  Shepler’s Macinaw Ferry
2005: Jim Santini,  NTA legislative representative
2006: John Shaffer, Luray Caverns
2007: Pete Anderson, formerly of Maupintour, and Jim Host, founder of Host Communications
2008: Ann Thomas, CTP, Western Discovery
2009: Ruth McKinney, CTP, formerly of Good Will Tours
2010: John Stachnik, CTP, Mayflower Tours
2011: Mikie Wall, CTP, Cape Fear Coast CVB
2013: Ed Dresel, Destinations Unlimited
2015: Suzanne Slavitter, Sports Empire Inc. & Red Hot Celebrations; Steve Richer (NTA public affairs advocate)
2016: Mark Hoffmann, CTP, Sports Leisure Vacations
2017: Paul Nakamoto, Aquarium of the Bay
2018: Bruce Beckham, CTP, formerly of Tourism Cares
2019: Jay Smith, Sports Travel and Tours
2021: Jim Warren, CTP, Anderson Vacations
2023: Roland Neave, CTP, Wells Gray Tours; and the late Ed Hall, CTP

Woman of Vision Award honors a woman in travel and tourism who has contributed significantly to the growth and prosperity of the industry as a whole and NTA specifically. This award is given in honor of the trailblazing women who played an integral part in the formation of NTA and paved the way for others to follow. This award was presented for the first time in 2018.


  • Holds or has held a leadership position within her company or organization.
  • Serves as a mentor or role model to other women in the travel industry.
  • Through her ideas and foresight has led significant improvements and advancements within the industry.
  • Consistently conducted herself in a manner consistent with the ethics, quality and sense of community espoused by NTA.


  • Any person employed by an NTA member company is eligible to make a nomination.
  • At minimum, a nomination should include a brief narrative (approximately 250 words) about the nominee. Additional information or material may be included with the narrative.
  • The NTA Board of Directors will review all nominations and make a final determination as to the recipient.


2018: Cathy Greteman, CTP, Star Destinations
2019: Kate Simpson, Academic Travel Abroad
2023: Dawnielle Tehama, Willamette Valley Visitors Association

The Young Professionals Award recognizes a hard working NTA member under the age of 40.


  • Only one candidate per organization
  • Demonstrates commitment and passion for the industry
  • Recognized for leadership and efforts beyond their job
  • Attended at least one NTA event (Travel Exchange, Contact, Meet-up, Destination Capitol Hill)


The NTA Board of Directors will select the winners, and awards will be presented at Travel Exchange.


2017 | St. Louis

  1. Dave Nitkiewicz, Experience Grand Rapids
  2. Fraser Neave, Wells Gray Tours Ltd.
  3. Lisa Itel, Travel Oregon
  4. LouAnna Henton, Nashville CVB
  5. Michelle Tupman, Great Canadian Holidays Inc.

2017 | San Antonio

  1. Christina Werner, Custom Holidays
  2. Melissa McClure, Visit Fairfax
  3. Peter Waugh, Broadway Inbound
  4. Roger Dudley, Experience Columbus
  5. Stephanie Dilling, Wells Gray Tours

2018 | Milwaukee

  1. Amanda Hinzmann, Ed-Ventures
  2. Ashley Kingman, Travel Portland
  3. Holly Rogers, Explore St. Louis
  4. Marcus Sarmiento, OK Tours
  5. Nicole Absher, Destination Gettysburg

2019 | Fort Worth

  1. Kalynne Defever

2023 | Shreveport

  1. Brittany Dykla, Brilliant Edventures
Back To Top